About: Alan K. Barr joined Saint Gregory’s in 2016 as Headmaster. Alan brings more than 23 years of independent school administrative and teaching experience at The O’Neal School, Trinity School of Midland and Kenston Forest School to the position. He graduated from Hampden-Sydney College with a degree in Managerial Economics, and earned a Master’s Degree in Educational Leadership from Longwood University.

Email: headmaster@saintgregorysschool.org

About: Mrs. Kelly Barr comes to Saint Gregory’s with new Headmaster Alan Barr. Kelly has over 15 years experience and taught preschool, first and third grades at independent schools in Virginia, Texas, North and South Carolina. Her specialty area is working with emerging readers. Kelly has an undergraduate degree in Art History from the University of Mary Washington and a masters in Early Childhood Education from Virginia Commonwealth University.

Email: kbarr@saintgregorysschool.org

About: Mrs. Marilyn Brown is the Saint Gregory’s Music teacher. Marilyn has over 15 years experience and taught in both public and private schools in the Albany area.

Email: mbrown@saintgregorysschool.org

About: Mr. Mike Buono is the Upper School Social Studies/Religion teacher. He has over 15 years experience and recently taught middle school history at an American School in Taiwan.

Email: mbuono@saintgregorysschool.org

About: Mrs. Beth Clark has been a teacher in the lower school for the past 20 years. She started at Saint Gregory's as the Pre-K assistant, and now teaches in the Nursery School classroom alongside Mrs Marohn. Mrs. Clark considers it a privilege to be a part of each student's introduction to the community at St. Gregory's, and genuinely enjoys nurturing each child throughout their early childhood educational experiences, and maintaining those relationships as the students grow.


Mrs. Clark is one of 9 children, born and raised in Albany, NY. When she isn't teaching, she spends a great deal of her free time with her parents and extended family. She also enjoys reading, yoga, baking and being a new grandmother! A mother of 3, Mrs. Clark's youngest son is also a graduate of St. Gregory's.

"One of the most rewarding aspects of teaching at St Gregory's has been the sense of community. It is a joy to not only get to know the students but also their families, and watch our students develop from toddlers into young adults."

Email: eclark@saintgregorysschool.org

About:

Mrs. Deb Connell began her career at SGS teaching first grade for seven years. While raising her children, she held various part-time positions in the Lower School that included language arts, art, enrichment, and remediation. She is currently the third grade teacher. Mrs. Connell has an undergraduate degree from Boston College and a masters degree in developmental reading from SUNY Albany. Her personal interests include sports, cooking, gardening, and reading. "SGS continues to be a place where I am encouraged to challenge my students academically, acknowledge and foster their unique abilities, and instill in them an appreciation for learning."

Email: dconnell@saintgregorysschool.org

About: Mrs. Kristen Dinkels recently joined Saint Gregory’s School as our Lower School Science teacher. Mrs. Dinkels has been teaching in all boys’ independent schools since 2002, having worked in Manhattan and Greenwich, Connecticut.

Her classroom experiences range from grades 1-3 with additional time spent teaching in preschool special education classrooms. Mrs. Dinkels also has extensive mentoring experience with recent college graduates just embarking on their own teaching careers. She also loves to guide and direct those interested in the education profession.

Email: kdinkels@saintgregorysschool.org

About: Mrs. Lynn Dollard has been our 1st grade teacher since 1999 and has 15 years of elementary teaching experience. She believes strongly in the transformative power of teaching and learning for both the student and the teacher.

Email: ldollard@saintgregorysschool.org


About: Mrs. Prajaakta Gore is the Business Manager.

Email: business.mgr@saintgregorysschool.org

About: Mrs. Katie Helm is the Upper School English teacher for grades 5-6 and works with Lower School faculty and students in areas of math and language arts.

Email: khelm@saintgregorysschool.org


About: About: Mrs. Sara Knaggs is the IT teacher for grades K-8.

Email: sknaggs@saintgregorysschool.org

About:

Mrs. Labatt-Simon teaches fifth through seventh grade math. She has worked professionally for 20 years in IT and marketing, and 7 years teaching fifth through twelfth grade math. She loves to prepare her students for the rigors of high school by engaging them in real life application of what they have learned. Students will learn trig by calculating the best path through the Gulf Stream, they will learn percent by calculating running distances using the 10% rule, and they will conduct surveys and create graphs using marketing methodologies. Mrs. Labatt has two children and enjoys triathlon, sailing, skiing, piano, and anything outdoors.

Email: klabatt-simon@saintgregorysschool.org

About: Mrs. Ellen Marohn is the Nursery program lead teacher.

Email: emarohn@saintgregorysschool.org

About: Mrs. Karen Mastromarchi is the Spanish teacher for grades N-8

Email: kmastromarchi@saintgregorysschool.org



About: Mrs. Mary Murphy is the 4th grade teacher.

Email: mmurphy@saintgregorysschool.org

About: Ms. Barbara Miller is the Front Office manager.

Email: bmiller@saintgregorysschool.org

About: Mrs. YungHee Risler is the Kindergarten teacher.

Email: yrisler@saintgregorysschool.org

About: Mr. Jake Shepard is the Assistant Headmaster, Upper School English teacher grades 7-8, and Latin teacher grades 7-8.

Email: jakeshepard@saintgregorysschool.org

About: Mr. Steve Seymour is the Physical Education teacher, boys basketball coach, and Athletic Director.

Email: sseymour@saintgregorysschool.org

About: Mrs. Joan Shepard is the Art teacher.

Email: jshepard@saintgregorysschool.org

About: Mrs. Stephanie Streck is the 2nd grade teacher.

Email: sstreck@saintgregorysschool.org

Powered by Finalsite